Saturday, April 7, 2012

Here We Go Again

So here we are Day 1 of my new wardrobe. Well, today it's not lacking. It's Holy Saturday and I thought to bring out the Spring in me. Strapless sundress I bought from Macy's for $20 something. Not a bad purchase. It's cut to mid-length of my thighs and is pretty versatile. I also wear this with a cuffed pair of dark wash skinny jeans if it's too chilly out which are cuffed just below the beginning of my calves. Once I figure out how to post pictures of the outfits I will. . . . 

Today isn't too exciting in my world besides the fact I'm home and away from school. Sometimes this is where my wardrobe starts to lack because what's the reason to look "nice", but the effort is there now. I was told that it's not that my wardrobe / style isn't there, it's that I just didn't care before to express it. I like to express myself but really not with my style so much, I like dance, singing, etc. those forms. But I think Spring / Summer are my months of style....Winter I could care less about, I just throw on a pair of sweat pants and sweat shirt and walk around, and you rarely see me in nice clothes if I have to be in them.

The seasons definitely matter to me. I hate the cold, but love the heat. It matters because I really don't care to get dressed up in the winter because my mood isn't in key with the weather. I really could care about style when I'm almost constantly freezing. While in the Summer, I love how the sun feels on my skin and I like the way it makes me feel. So this will be interesting to see how this coming Winter goes. I am going to try to be more alert of my style then too, but I'm glad I started this in the Spring because it will prepare me for the Winter months and hopefully it'll be habit to care by then. lol

WE'LL SEE WHAT HAPPENS
I'm always HUNGRY for more. A Vision to learn more!

Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Style Quarrels

So, yeah...I'm revisiting my blog...

Over a course of time I have been told that I have a really "sporty yet country style", "You look like a bum", "You look really nice today", "You're styling today", "What the hell are you wearing?", "Why do you look so nice today?", and it goes on and on and on...

I was recently inspired by a special kind of sister in my life because she keeps harping on the shear fact that my wardrobe is lacking a little. Well not exactly lacking, but more so that I "don't care about what I wear and the message I am portraying". So after I was recently told by this someone that I look like a bum everyday, I decided to do something about it.... I went to the closet....looked in...and decided that it's time to pull the style out of me. I have clothes, nice clothes, sporty clothes, scandalous clothes, conservative clothes, relaxation clothes, etc. I really have a variety, but not a particular style. Versatile is really what I range from. I like a good workout outfit a lot, but to others that may be perceived to be "bum" like. So I pulled out my trend of throwing great outfits together mostly all the time now and the sporty look every so often and people look at me like I'm going through a collegiate crisis. I dress nice people, yes yes, not all the time but why does it have to be for a specific reason. Why can't they just let it be and say you look nice/cute/pretty/etc. without attaching that it's for someone or meeting or work or event. Why can't it just be to make myself feel good or just because I felt like throwing this style out today. I was in the mood for it. Yes ever once in a while there is something important going on where I need to look decent, but sometimes I need to do it for me. I need to express myself. 
It's like when I sing or dance, sometimes I feel inspired to do so and it just happens, that's usually when my best work is done. When I'm into it, passionate, etc. You have to work with what you have and how you feel, I would kind of compare it to...well, sex. You have to be passionate and work with what you have and do or don't, depending on how you feel. If it's not good why get dressed "up" today, but if it is good, than keep going with it and expressed it. I'm in the mood to dress nicer, so why not go for it.

Everyday or so I am going to try to post a picture of what I wore and a little tiff about it and why and my feelings. I promise you this, my life is far from boring. The weirdest stuff happens to me I swear! lol

Saturday, February 26, 2011

Long Time Coming

So, yeah I know...I haven't blogged in a good while! I'm just so busy with everything going on in my life and around me. I've been taking care of people, friends, my love life, school, family issues (which is miles away), and work. Yeah know the normal issues. However, sometimes these stresses can get more complex than anyone would imagine. This makes me think of how there is a type of people who think they know it all and are worse off than you. Ya know, the people who try to out do everyone else because they are too concerned about being better than everyone else.. here's what you call cockiness. These types of people are no where near confident but think they are. It's situation like these where a person is defined as cocky or confident.Prime example: If a person comes up to these types of people and says, "hey I'm having a hard time juggling .....", the cocky person would say, "well at least you don't have this and this going on on top of everything you just said". I'm not saying this defines all people who are cocky, but if they were a repeat offender than I would be having a major problem with them. This is only from my personal experiences that I believe this is true. Maybe you have other examples or object this statement, but hey that's okay; we've all had different experiences and outtakes on life.
        So some maybe wonder why this is a long time coming, well..... The other day I had a very interesting conversation like the one above with a person that is cocky. And I just got so sick of it that I put them in their place. Now if you knew me, I'm talkative but I do what I preach. It was one of those times where I couldn't handle it anymore. Yea know, they just get under your skin. Sometimes you need that in life; to just put someone in their place and it maybe helpful to them to experience something like that and it may not. But it definitely was a risk well worth taking. Now I know that the change in that person will only last for a short while, but they will be back to their old ways in no time.
       So what does this have to do with wellness?? Well, I think and yes I think, that its healthy to be able to let your emotion go sometimes and not hold them in. Even if its just a venting session. But there will come a point in time that you will want to confront that person and I think its healthy to do so. Mine was not as harsh as it sounds but you need to talk in a low tone and soft voice. People WILL FEEL ATTACKED if you use a loud and high pitch voice. Trust me I know this because a lot of my preteen to early teen years were a lot like those types of conversations. I will freely admit that! I'm not perfect and I wouldn't expect others to be from a realistic stand point. But its healthy to be civil and let your emotions out in a controled environment such as a therapist or with a highly trusted friend. Then go and talk to the person that has been getting under your skin. It will make it easier to say what you need to say. I haven't always been great with these types of communication skills, but I have learned truly from the Athletic Trainers in my life, from high school through college. I would also have to accedit this to my roommate who is a very calming and excellent influence on points of view, experience, and how something sounds if it is said in different ways using different terms. I mean I guess she's good with words and how to say things because she's a creative writing major and she's kinda going to be a big deal author some day. :P
     Stress is a much apart of life as are exercise and nutrition, but its really how its handled that effects how you feel, how your day is, what will happen next, etc. The list could go on and on!
So just do what you need to do to make the situation HEALTHY for you and the other person involved!

Sincerely,
 Country Jewel :*

Thursday, February 10, 2011

Starting Out

So this is my first ever blog. Kinda scary! I mean not really but what do you really write about? Exactly my first question! I tried to make it too specific at first, but found that I am a really RaNDoM person. So why not write about a variety of topics, but have them all focus back to life experiences, health, fitness, and goals. I mean, I was kinda inspired to write about my life and experiences thanks to my roommate! Alison is such a great roommate. We have so much fun together! We are always having a late night party. I mean its a party to us. Singing songs from Moulin Rouge is our favorite, making cinnamon toast at 1 in the morning with hot choc., and just encountering new things about each other everyday. We have become great friends over these past 2 years and its great to have someone that hits close to home for ya. I don't think we'll ever get out of touch for the rest of our lives because we are both engraved in each other.

Which brings me too an important point, how good friendships can affect your overall health. I really think good relationships with people can cause you to live a healthier life style. Think about it, if you had a person who treated you like crap, wouldn't you be moody. Well even if you don't think you are, trust me you are! Next time look at what you eat. Your actions reflect what you feel, always. Its the exact same thing when you're on your period. Sorry guys but its true. For the guys, its a comparison to when you drink in your teen years because of course you're invinsible and think you're a big shot. And in later years you see you have a gross beer gut. Its that feeling where you just can't help yourself because you feel like shit. If you surround yourself with people who lift you up than you have a better chance to eat better. A lot of life revolves around the psychological feelings and behavior of people. If you have the mind set than you can set yourself up for success, if your looking for a healthier diet. Its like a building, you need to set up the beams for stability to put up the rest of the structure. The basics are always key! So what I'm saying is that positive relationships are the building blocks to a healthier life style. This is only one component of a feel great life style. Don't make it difficult for yourself by forcing yourself to eat healthy constantly. A little bit of unhealthy food is okay every so often in small portions. Like when I was younger, I loved POP! That's all my grandmother had at her house besides skim milk (which I hated), water, and occasionally sun tea. But I really gave it up one day because It seemed to be flaring up my face blemishes. So I stopped drinking it and I never really drink pop at all any more. Now, I just stopped drinking it all together. Some people can do that and other can't. Something that can help you progress farther is to know your patterns of habit. Be honest with yourself and know what is realistic for you! If you can't do it immediately, take small steps to ween yourself away from it. To succeed you need a great support system! If your friends and family believe in you than that's more power to you!

A final thought:
       Just learn to live your own life and be true to yourself. Do stuff for you, not because someone tells you to. Think of the benefits you can gain! What do you have to lose? You really don't have anything to lose! A perfect example from Job 1:21, now an Americanized phrase-I came into the world with nothing and I'll leave with nothing but love. Coming from a very Slovak and Italian family I have learned that life is a sensational experience. The good and the bad are beneficial because you learn from both, what to do and not to do. It can make you BETTER if YOU chose to, and you it can DESTROY you, if YOU LET IT.

Peace. Love. Friendship.-Country Jewel